NOW ON BANDCAMP 50+ Exclusive Tracks on the Electronic Explorations Compilation

“This is Emika’s 4th appearance on electronic explorations and in my opinion her best set to date.

‘192’ features Emika spinning some of her favourite tunes right now, plus your get the chance to listen to three of Emika’s own tunes exclusive, way before anyone else including a Tommy Four Seven remix all of which are forthcoming to ‘Ninja Tune Records’ next month (May 2012)   …..Also listen out for two amazing pieces of work by Nina Kraviz

Emika was born in the UK, of Czech heritage.

As a young woman she studied classical piano and composition, She waitressed to save up for her first Apple Mac and copy of Logic.

She was living in Bristol as the city transitioned from d&b to dubstep and she went to the first parties organised by Pinch. “I continue to be a part of this culture which has spread worldwide now.”

She now lives in Berlin, where she works as a sound designer for Native Instruments.

“I am focused on the world of sound and the power of the human voice, the instant connections it makes with listeners, in music. In general I feel there is a lack of vocabulary in the field of electronic music.”

In Berlin she discovered the legendary Berghain nightclub: “It is intense, dark, boundaryless and safe. Berghain is whatever you want it to be.”

In 2010 she began making field recordings in the Berghain. “From the recordings I made a sample library which I gave to all the resident producer/DJs to make music from. The resulting compilation of music became the club’s label, Ostgut Ton’s anniversary release, called ‘Fünf’.

All her songs are based on narratives: “I start with an idea, a story, and then I seek to find the sound world that best dramatizes my story, making it into a song. I try very hard to stay faithful to my narratives and not fall into the trap of genre conventions which is why I’m shy of genre references.”

Emika is out now, buy at the Ninjashop.


  1. 01. Wax 30303 - Hey O Hansen
  2. 02. Guy Andrews - Shades - [Hemlock]
  3. 03. Emika - Chemical Fever, Ninja Tune - [forthcoming, May 2012]
  4. 04. Emika - The Long Goodbye, Tommy Four Seven remix, Ninja Tune - [forthcoming, May 2012]
  5. 05. Nina Kraviz, Walking In The Night, Rekids
  6. 06. Emika - Save It, Ninja Tune - [forthcoming, May 2012]
  7. 07. Deft - Clotting Stem - [Jimmy Edgar Remix]
  8. 08. Nina Kraviz, Ghetto Kraviz - [Rekids]
  9. 09. Rhythm & Sound, No Partial - [Rhythm & Sound]
  10. 10. Suzanne Cianni - 'Pop & Poor' - [Coca-Cola logo]
  11. 11. Suzanne Cianni - 'Discover Magazine' - [TV Spot]
  12. 12. Suzanne Cianni - Live Buchla Concert 1975
  13. 13. Jeff Mills - Taken - [A-side]
  14. 14. The Upsetters - Soul I, - [Sunspot Records]
  15. 15. Sbtrkt Remixes - white label B-side, - [Young Turks 075]
  16. 16. Emika - Chemical Fever, Substance remix, Ninja Tune - [forthcoming, May 2012]