NOW ON BANDCAMP 50+ Exclusive Tracks on the Electronic Explorations Compilation

When I approached this mix I had in mind that I would like to include a good portion of house music into it. So the first half of the mix (except the intro which sounds like birds trapped in a ms-20) is dedicated to this kind of dusty, lo-fi house that I really love, both to listen to and play out. The second part starts off perhaps more straightforward and “clubby”. It later moves on to a more muddled territory and in the end finishes on Mars. ~ Simon Haydo

It is a vinyl only mix (which you can hear by the flaws) done at home while staring at the wall and eating really really dark chocolate.

The Illusion of an Alternative Choice” is handcrafted together solely by the use of a Korg MS-20 synthesizer, dedicated to the finest suburb in Stockholm called Norsborg and approved and released by the mighty Peder Mannerfelt Produktion.

Working shades away from Mannerfelt’s less-is-more style, Haydo becomes the latest in a line of producers stretching from Suicide thru Fad Gadget and Powell to fetishise and utilise Korg’s classic, tactile little box for everything from kick drums to melodies and anything between.

However, The Illusion of an Alternative Choice would simply be an academic exercise in asceticism if it weren’t for the remarkable diversity of sounds Haydo generates from his chosen bit of kit. Like Lorenzo Senni with his Roland JP-8080, or Mark Fell with the Yamaha DX7, Haydo reveals a wealth of variation from the MS-20, revelling in its textured gradients and tweaky integers between the pulsating, viscous morph and off-kilter dissonance of Let Know to the search & destroy ‘ardcore mentasm-style licks of Not For You?, thru the dry, blocky roller The Go!, the sharp-cut jakbeat of Parade Of Unhappy and unstable cosmic fuss of Out.

In effect, by proving you can create a whole record with lots of variation, but only using one synth, Haydo also cocks a cool snook at those n00b producers with expensive banks of kit who produce the most prosaic, tepid and gridlocked house – basically proving that it’s not what you’ve got, but how you use it.


  1. Simon Haydo - 491 - Electronic Explorations
  2. ______________________________________________
  3. 01. Simon Haydo - Making Known (961) [HVNX]
  4. 02. MGUN - Pok [Don't Be Afraid]
  5. 03. KMFH - Crushed! [Wild Oats]
  6. 04. J M S Khosah - Actuality [Apron Records]
  7. 05. Shamos - Palace Pavilion [Apron Records]
  8. 06. Buttechno - Super Siziy King [The Trilogy Tapes]
  9. 07. XI - Track 5 [Going Good]
  10. 08. Theo Parrish - Dusty Cabinets [Sound Signature]
  11. 09. Marcos Babral - Loose Lips [Clone Records]
  12. 10. Machine Woman - Camile From OHM Makes Me Feel Loved [Technicolour]
  13. 11. Hodge - Medway [Hemlock Recordings]
  14. 12. Batu - Marius [Hessle Audio]
  15. 13. Peder Mannerfelt - First Day [Peder Mannerfelt Produktion]
  16. 14. Bronze Teeth - Gilt Plate [Bio Rhythm]
  17. 15. Peder Mannerfelt - It's Coming [Peder Mannerfelt Produktion]
  18. 16. Simon Haydo - The go! [Peder Mannerfelt Produktion]
  19. 17. Umfang - Foxce [1080p]
  20. 18. Simon Haydo - Out. [Peder Mannerfelt Produktion]