NOW ON BANDCAMP 50+ Exclusive Tracks on the Electronic Explorations Compilation

“The new darkjazz project from Jason Köhnen the founding member of The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble and The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation. This podcast is aimed to promote ‘creating for donating’. The podcast is absolutely free, but if you appreciate the artist and would like to donate to some worthy causes, all  donations will go to in support of open source journalism, and Villa Grissela, a dog shelter in Spain” – ‘DONATE

THE THING WITH FIVE EYES is the new darkjazz project formed by Jason Kohnen after the split of The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble and The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation back in 2012.

Kohnen originally started his Darkjazz concept back in 1999 when he composed a track for his main project Bong-Ra called ‘Darkjazz’ a heavily jazz breakbeat track influenced by Albert Ayler’s track ‘Ghost’. He later formed TKDE releasing 3 full length albums and an EP on labels such as Planet Mu, Ad Noiseam and Denovali.

Kohnen signed a deal with Planet Mu by way of his Bong-Ra jazz EP adaptations of Venetian Snares’ Hungarian album. Since then TKDE and the The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation developped the genre to great heights.

THE THING WITH FIVE EYES release their first EP entitled ‘äæÑ’ meaning ‘Glory’. The four tracks ‘Amzha’, ‘Sanhkara’, ‘Meduxae’ and ‘Khazar’  form a total 21 minute journey into unknown mystical sonic territories.

The EP is released on Kohnen’s own new Svart Lava, released as a limited 12″ mid 2014, the 2nd release should appear late 2015 / early 2016

Kohnen will be joined by Hungarian drummer Balazs Pandi (known for his unique drumming with the likes of Merzbow, Otto von Schirah, Venetian Snares, Jamie Saft and many more) who will be part of the project for live and also for the future recordings, joining in on the musical endeavour that will follow.


The 12″ EP can be purchased here:
Digital can be purchased here:


  1. The Thing With Five Eyes - EE374
  2. ____________________________________________
  3. 00:00 - 06:37 Nour *
  4. 06:37 - 13:28 Amzha
  5. 13:28 - 18:00 Dhargan *
  6. 18:00 - 22:52 Sanhkara
  7. 22:52 - 25:22 Salem Pt.1 *
  8. 25:22 - 28:35 Millah *
  9. 28:35 - 30:39 Salem Pt.2 *
  10. 30:39 - 32:16 Amal *
  11. 32:16 - 38:30 Nehex *
  12. 38:30 - 41:45 Kosmos *
  13. 41:45 - 48:00 Meduxae
  14. 48:00 - 49:34 Fajr *
  15. 49:34 - 56:57 Khazar
  16. _____
  17. All songs written and produced by THE THING WITH FIVE EYES
  18. All songs released through SVART LAVA
  19. Tracks with * currently unreleased
  20. Other tracks appear on the EP 'نور ' Svart Lava 001