NOW ON BANDCAMP 50+ Exclusive Tracks on the Electronic Explorations Compilation

For this Electronic Explorations mix we’ve put together a selection of some of the best underground music about at the moment and is a true representation of the label what we’re about. The mix includes brand new and forthcoming material on UVB-76.

Launched by Ruffhouse and Gremlinz in 2015, UVB-76 Music, releasing a consistent series of 12” singles, EPs and the recent debut album from Overlook ‘Smoke Signals’.

Key recording artists consist of Ruffhouse, Gremlinz, Pessimist, Overlook and Clarity all appearing at events worldwide, UVB-76 Music has articulated a cohesive original sound matched to a visual identity created and curated by artist James Hewitt.

Ther most recent release comes in the form of ‘Smoke Signals’ by producer Jason Luxton, AKA Overlook.

Luxton, is one of drum & bass’s most talked-about artists. The Bournemouth-based producer’s take on the genre is balanced on a razor’s edge between functionality and experimentation. That careful contrast defines his tracks, which can be quiet and subdued or huge and immersive. (That split personality was best illustrated on 2014 12-inch for Narratives.) Luxton has been a favourite of DJs like Doc Scott, Loxy and the Samurai Music crew since he was a teenager, but it wasn’t until he landed on Ruffhouse and Gremlinz’s equally young and promising label UVB-76 that he truly found a home.

The atmospheres on Smoke Signals define Luxton’s music, to the point where even short interludes like the title track or “Unknown Transmission” stand out. The landscapes he paints with transportive sound effects, vocal samples and sonorous synths are just as important as the drums. Like the best drum & bass albums in recent memory—Homemade Weapons’ Negative Space comes to mind—Smoke Signals embodies everything that makes this music great: clever samples, rich synthesizers and, of course, killer drums. [Words: Andrew Ryce]



  1. UVB-76 - 473 - Electronic Explorations
  2. ___________________________________
  3. 01 Karim Maas - Into Eternity [Unreleased]
  4. 02 Pessimist - Paian (Simon Shreeve Remix) [UVB-76]
  5. 03 Positive Centre – Steaming Back – [Silent Series]
  6. 04 HKKPTR – Rost – [Furor]
  7. 05 Oake – Anaximenes – [47]
  8. 06 Pessimist – Grit – [Blackest Ever Black]
  9. 07 Talker - Battle Standard - [Standards and Practices]
  10. 08 Headless Horseman – Shattered – [47]
  11. 09 Rommek - Forbidden Plant – [Blueprint]
  12. 10 Pessimist – Retrouvaille – [UVB-76]
  13. 11 ?
  14. 12 Outer Heaven – Outback – [UVB-76]
  15. 13 Yally – Dread Risk – [Diagonal Records]
  16. 14 Pessimist – Spirals – [Blackest Ever Black]
  17. 15 ?
  18. 16 Overlook - Blue rose [UVB-76]
  19. 17 ?
  20. 18 ?
  21. 19 Outer Heaven - Moon Funk – [UVB-76]
  22. 20 Entire - Retrals – [Unreleased]
  23. 21 DB1 – ZUKR – [Hidden Hawaii 3334]
  24. 22 Overlook - Rogue Soul – [UVB-76]